Night Work

It’s been a month since I’ve been able to post, mostly because of the crazy whirlwind of sleeplessness, spending time with friends, and stress that is the last few weeks of the semester. I managed to survive and I am now enjoying my time off with my family before my next adventure in Hong Kong begins. I want to use this time to catch up on my work from the semester and share it with whoever it is that stumbles upon this blog. First up, the final selection of photographs from my “Night Work” project.

I spend a lot of time walking around Somerville, often making 3 or 4 trips a day from my house to Tufts campus, Davis Square, or elsewhere. As a result I spend a lot of time taking in the same surroundings every day, and as the days got shorter a lot of those walks happened after the sun went down. I became very accustomed to (and enamored with) the way certain scenes would be lit up at night. What some might consider ordinary suburban landscapes suddenly became transformed by both artificial and natural light,creating dramatic scenes that captivated me on a daily basis. I therefore set out to document these scenes, to slow down and really look at the surroundings that served as the backdrop for my daily life.

As always, leave any comments below and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

