Transitions

I’ve been living with the same group of individuals, more or less, for the past 3 years. During that time I have made countless photographs of them, documenting the time we have shared. Traditionally I used my trusty 35mm camera to capture moments as they happend, spontaneously. However this semester I began to use a medium format camera, the Mamiya 7, which I liked so much I bought my own. Because the film is so much bigger, the number of frames per roll of film is less, and therefore each photograph costs more, literally. This fact, combined with the size and general slowness of the Mamiya forced me to take a different approach.

Still interested in photographing these individuals who filled the minutes & hours of my life, I began setting up appointments which my friends, placing them in front of the camera and taking more control over what I saw through my viewfinder (technically it’s a rangefinder). As the semester progressed I thought about the way my friends and I had changed from that first year we spent together, and how these photographs were so different from those early snapshots (I still continued to shoot my ‘snapshot’ photographs throughout this time). The most obvious change, and probably the most cliche, is that we are growing up. But it is deeper than that. The more I look, the more I realize that my pictures constitute an ongoing  investigation of the way my friends have crafted their identities. These more formal portraits represent the way I saw my friends at this point in time; they are frozen in transition, for even today their identity has been further developed.

As I continue to photograph and live with these individuals, I cannot help but think of a long-term project, one which attempts to show the development and molding of myself and my friends. I guess you’ll have to wait and see.

In the meantime, enjoy the portraits from this semester, and CHECK OUT THE NEW WEBSITE I MADE!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

