When My Education And Real Life Collide

Last semester I took a course called “Environmental Preservation and Improvement”, an upper-level seminar where every week students gave presentations on current environmental topics. It was an awesome class, and it excited me so much that I got a little over-ambitious and said that I would provide a brief recap of the presentations given every week. Unfortunately, real life interfered and I only managed to summarize the first presentation about geoengineering and then one of my own presentations on colony collapse disorder.

In the course of that research, I basically came to the conclusion that the culprit at the bottom of all these interacting factors is the use of systemic pesticides, specifically neonicotinoids, on the crops honeybees pollinate (refer to the older post for details).

That was back in October. Almost six months later and the New York Times recently came out with this article and corresponding video (below), which says, in so many words, that growing evidence is pointing to systemic pesticides as the primary cause in colony collapse disorder.

Was I the first person to make this connection? Of course not. Nor has it been determined what exactly is causing CCD. But it’s always rewarding and exciting to see work that I’ve done in class being discussed out in the real world, and it only gets me more psyched to continue learning.

One thought on “When My Education And Real Life Collide

  1. I read that article in the NYTimes and thought of you…….I am so happy to hear you make that connection yourself!

    Cant wait to hear about all the other presentations – and all the great experiences you have had. I know you are returning as a completely different person……..;-)))))

    xoxoxox

    Carolee Friedlander CEO AccessCircles 19 East Elm St. Greenwich, CT 06830 office (203) 661 1173 cell (914) 645 5264 carolee@accesscircles.com

Leave a Reply

